Twenty Twenty

Omoh !....

I didn't really want to write this, because I thought my year wasn't as great as the year others had, but I changed my mind. 2020 really has been my best year yet.

I got my first job as a dev in December 2019. It turned out to be a not so good job for me, but that’s what I started off my year with. In February, I left the job. Got a paid trial run at another startup (they never got back to me). Then finally, I got a Job at a beautiful startup (Neohaul) in Lagos. I joined Neohaul Technologies in February.

In March, I was privileged enough to buy my First Laptop with my hard earned money. I was so happy. It was a sign the year was going to be awesome. Still in March, we were told to go home from school due to the CORONA issues, but I stayed back in school.I never went home.

Between April and September, I was focused on building two products at Neohaul. My favourite one has to be the second one ( Broka.ng ). During this time, I really learnt a lot, Improved myself, met a lot of people virtually, supported people i could in every possible way i could and I am so grateful to God for that particular stretch of my life.

Jumping back to June, I got an unpaid internship at a startup in the US. After the internship period, I was retained. I got offered a role at the same company. This was around September. At this point, Sadly I had to leave Neohaul.

October came and I think this was when I started having the most nerve wracking moments of my life. From being stuck in one bubble in my career path, to being shattered emotionally due to various reasons (20-10-2020) was one of them. But I was glad I overcame most of these issues.

One thing I am most grateful for is that I was able to achieve the goal I had set for myself for 2020. The goal was to reach a certain stage financially before my birthday in October and I was glad I was able to do that.

I think October did the most. lol… My biggest Win and Loss was in the same month. I am talking about how I had high hopes for a particular job I applied for and scaled through all the interviews. I was waiting for the good news and an offer letter when I received an e-mail telling me I was not qualified because of my years of experience.

"Omoh I wan cry kill myself… Job wey be say I don spend the salary for my head.”

But nothing spoilt sha... we move.

Nothing really notable happened after October except a journey to self discovery, decision making for the coming year, and all that.

Oh I didn’t mention that I spent 70% of the year applying to various places but constantly getting a L. At some point, I started seeing rejection letters as a win because it was way better than being aired (without a reply). But overall, I am grateful for everything.

My year would not have been amazing without the presence of some wonderful people (everyone in my life is wonderful), but there were just some people who were just there throughout, and for that I'm grateful.

Looking into 2021 and all I can say is that I am motivated to be better, to do better and to think better. 2020 was a challenge and I was glad I pulled through.

I know I just told you everything about my 2020 without actually telling you everything, but IT IS WHADDIDISSS

irris.gif

My problem with writing is that I never really know how to end them. So at this point, I just might cut you off at any point I deem fit. I think I would have to work on learn ....